Bits and Bobs!

By Kate64

La belle France, enfin! - Jour 4

Aubeterre sur Dronne - Subterranean Church of St Jean, hewn from solid rock in the 12th century, the largest subterranean church in Europe, with a nave 20m in height

A third, and last, day of stunning April weather, reaching 31 degrees, and still that temperature at 6.30pm when we returned home from a trip north to Charente to visit the beautiful village of Aubeterre sur Dronne.

After lunch in the village square, we visited the incredible subterranean church, the photos don’t convey the sheer size of the place. Then a spot of retail therapy before another refreshment stop to fortify ourselves for a wander around the village in the afternoon heat.

In extras, more views of the subterranean church (to get an idea of scale there’s a tiny blipper in extra no 3), along with other village scenes and an incredibly silly selfie that MH insisted I added, she wants proof that I did! My fourth extra is actually my favourite photo but I think the church is so amazing it has to be my main pic.

Thank you so much for all your very kind comments, stars and hearts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.