wrbradley

By wrbradley

The Bunker!

This image completes my series of three images which record how the Second World War touched the Stormont Estate, the site on which Parliament Buildings is located.  This image shows the entrance to a Second World War bunker.

It was intended for use by the Northern Ireland Cabinet in the event that they had to vacate Parliament Building.  My job at one stage gave me access to this bunker, there was a central corridor with rooms off either side, a conference room, a kitchen, toilets and a plant room containing air conditioning kit I think.

My memory of it recalls it being quite damp following decades of disuse, although it still had an electricity supply and working lights.  This was about 20 years ago.

During the war the Senate Chamber in Parliament Building was used as an Operation Room by the RAF.  There are other sites which I used to have access to but since I retired my connection to the Estate is lost. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.