Hyperion

By Hyperion

Ancient Stones

This afternoon I went for a walk on Dartmoor starting from Ivybridge. The climb up onto the moor is steep but worth it for the panoramic views. It felt cool in the very strong wind, but fortunately no rain and drier underfoot than I expected. I followed a different route than I normally take and discovered the remains of this megalithic burial chamber (Cuckoo Ball) which I have not seen before. Despite the strength of the wind a skylark was singing overhead and I saw my first swallow of the year. In the wetter ground further on I flushed a snipe which must have been only a couple of feet away from me. I have included as extras two more photos from my walk. The first shows Spurrell's Cross and the second is the curiously named Hangingshell Rock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.