Meles

By meles

Intimmers

I had to go to the Leith health centre for a routine ultrasound scan and introduced the radiologist to the late m-i-l's term for what I had previously referred to as my innards - intimmers, stress on the second syllable. Seems to be an Aberdeenshire thing, deriving from 'in-timbers' (a ship's innards, I guess); I found this wonderful quote on the Scots language website:
(from the Aberdeen Press and Journal, 2022):

“There’s fences doon a’ ower Meikle Wartle, so Feel Moira has puttered aff tae Aiberdeen tae get some timmer. I’d seen in the paper that there wis noo a branch o’ MFI at Foresterhill, so that’s far she’s headed. But then I pit ma specs on and realised it wiz actually an MRI, fit is nae use if ye need tae look for timmer, but perfect if ye need tae look at yer intimmers”.

Anyway, my intimmers seemed to be all present and correct - she was only meant to be checking up on my bile duct but kindly roved about over my liver and kidneys as well while she was there!

I was sorry to see that "Lookin' Trendy" is closing down; it's been a fixture on Great Junction St for a long time.

Later I went up to the allotment and met a couple of Holly Blue butterflies fluttering roung each other (extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.