WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

A glass of wine and a good book

I settled down to read this book this evening. It's one S requested for his birthday, so it's perhaps not surprising that it's a memoir by a lone hiker :) A very different kind of hiker though. Cheryl Strayed lost her mother to cancer at 22, then lost her way and found herself again by walking 1,100 miles along the west coast of the US, from the Mojave Desert to Washington State. She had no hiking experience and carried a pack so heavy that on day one she couldn't even lift it onto her back (although I suspect she was not quite as clueless as she implies here). I got distracted by an invitation to supper so haven't read much yet, but she's a good writer and I'm sure it's going to be a book that you don't need to be a hiker to enjoy, as much about her internal journey as the external one.

This is tagged Reader's World courtesy of Booky, though it's maybe not quite what she intended as there's no reader in the photo :) Note also the presence of my new bread baking book; I'm still trying to crack sourdough!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.