MeeowMuse

By Meeow99

Shirley Windmill

Wanted to blip this yesterday when the weather was so much better! But, as it was so contrasty, with the sun behind it, and I had the wrong lens, I had to forego it. But succeeded today instead.

I pass the turning for this windmill every day on the way to and from work. You can see it from the main(ish) road. It was recently renovated, painted I believe.

The current Shirley Windmill was built in 1854 to replace an earlier mill, and still has a lot of its original machinery in place. I visited the mill back in August 2009, and was fascinated by the interior. Here's a couple of photos I took back then of the interior

You can find out more about the windmill here

Right, enough of this avoiding writing reports ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.