Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Left foot backwards

Off to England for the week to celebrate Mum's 95th birthday with the family. Returning home on Friday.

The flight from Santiago was uneventful, although it was very windy on arrival at Stansted airport.

I picked up the hire car, an MG hybrid SUV crossover. The once famous British brand MG is now Chinese owned and manufactured.

The only issue was that I had requested manual gear change but this car was automatic. I'd only ever driven an automatic in the U.S. for a few weeks over twenty years ago. Still, I decided to stick with it. What's the worst that could happen?

Well, as it turned out, nothing except a bit of embarrassment a few times, when I instinctively tried to depress the non-existent clutch, using the brake pedal. Anyway, I think my left foot has now accepted that its services are not required until further notice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.