Out and About

By Puffin

St Oswald #5

Today Mr P walked the last 33km from Bamburgh to Holy Island. He didn't have time to visit St Cuthbert's cave but me, with a car, was able to nip round to the NT carpark on the other side of the ridge, and walk up from there. Since being inspired by the St Cuthberts story last year when Mr P did the Pennine Way,  I could not miss an opportunity to visit the cave. 
Anyway, I also explored Bamburgh without going in the castle and found Grace Darling's grave. £50 was paid for by Queen Victoria when poor Grace died at the age of 26 from TB. 
I met Mr P at the beginning of the Holy Island causeway. He set off following the Pilgrims Route poles across the sands. I drove across the 5km causeway to the car park on the other side and walked back across the sands, following the poles to meet him at the refuge - Blip taken and walk back to the island. 
He rested at the hotel while I wandered around Lindisfarne Castle. 
See collage attached 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.