Ingleman

By Ingleman

The Ludlow Gap

**Best viewed large**

There is no such a place called The Ludlow Gap.

It is the name I use to describe this view as I see it, with Ludlow nestling in a valley between the hills that surround it.

I am on the southern fringes of Wenlock Edge, looking south and in the extraordinary light that lit up the scene, Ludlow Castle is clearly visible some seven or eight miles away. I am using the Nikon D810 plus 300mm telephoto lens plus 1.4 converter giving focal length of 420mm. It is a heavy set up and tricky when hand held. But I just cannot lug a tripod around any more.

I am pleased with the shot because I can see the castle.

The extra is a view from the top of the edge looking west and down through the dense tree clad slopes, with a haze of new spring growth catching the evening light.

I am in heaven, here on earth...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.