and through the wire...

By hesscat

We're Doomed!

A change of scene at lunchtime, off to Gore Glen on a sunnny day, fab. This weir is looking much more healthy since the last time when I thought we were doomed. Early evening walk, lovely, if a bit chilly. Then it was off to the flix to see "Civil War". I had only seen the trailer which had pulled me into this not-so-far-off possible scenario... the US president has remained in office for a 3rd term and is attacking civilians who protest, hence a civil war... not an unlikely future event in my opinion! 

So while I thought it was going to be all "civilwarry", republicans/dems etc, it was actually about a photo journalist reporting on the civil war. The uprisers were unusually comprised of left centre and right politics, seemingly keeping the plot clearly out of current US politics. Despite wanting to see a film that was predicting the future, like Contagion predicted Covid-19, that would have depressed me even more, it was actually very engaging showing what war photographers go through to take the shot, and I really enjoyed it. I do like knowing as little as possible beforehand, just enough to be intrigued. I still think we're doomed though...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.