danielmuir

By danielmuir

Ten Under the Ben

'Some old guys and Dan' came in second in class in the No Fuss Events Ten Under the Ben this year. Our class was Veteran Quads, despite the fact there were only Jonny, George & me racing. The weather was the best it's been (2011: pouring, 2012: scorching, 2013: cold and mainly dry) but despite the course being less technical than previous years, I found the going tough - partly due to my sore back, partly just lacking energy.

Nonetheless, we managed 9 laps, 3 each and the excitement came at the end.... I must have completed the 8th lap about 6.50 and George set off for the last, expecting to have finished by the 8pm deadline. As it approached, tension was building and I set off a bit back along the course. With 3 minutes to go, George appeared, but just as he passed me his gears crunched and the wheel ate the derailleur. He picked up the bike and was about to try to run to the finish with it but he'd never have made it in time. I thrust my bike in his direction and he pedalled off to the finish as the announcer was counting down the time. He crossed the line with 4 seconds to go! Cue hugs and back slapping all round... Brilliant!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.