Marking Time

By Libra

A Scottish adventure

They came to Scotland in search of adventure, of wide-open spaces. Only the spaces turn out to be wilder and more open than they expect.
This French couple, mother and daughter, are lost.

I met them this evening while out walking. They left Nice this morning where the temperature in the south of France was 27C and arrive here to find it’s a chilly 10C with a strong wind blowing.
 
They are shivering. They had googled accommodation and our local glamping pods had popped up. They find the banner but see no sign of the glamping pods.

“Does Laura (owner of the glamping pods ) know you are coming?” I ask.
 They shake their heads.
 “Let’s ring her,” I suggest.

They are lucky. Laura is feeding the sheep. “Send them in. I will sort them out,” she says, used to foreign tourists getting lost.
I point them in the direction of the long rough track stretching over the skyline and assure them if they keep going the glamping pods will eventually come into view.

And that’s the last I see of them, disappearing in a cloud of dust over the horizon.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.