barbarathomson

By barbarathomson

Grisedale Pike

Walking up Mountains - Just when you think you're doing pretty well on the steep bits, some-one sprints past you. In the past this would be with a cheery wave and a friendly(if ever so faintly smug) smile. Now, it prompts comments like today's.  'Are you All Right? '  It's a bit unnerving to see yourself through the eyes of a 20 year old.
However, as I'd only intended a short flat walk in the woods after work I was really pleased to find myself at the summit with sunshine, a stiff breeze and a view all the way to Scotland. If I'd waited up there another hour I might have seen the aurora, but tea called more strongly. 
I took the longer way back by Hobcarton End and Sanderson Gill and arrived back in the gloaming just as the Search and Rescue dogs were being called back by their owners. High pitched whistles bring the dogs racing in, in a flurry of fur and fitness at the end of their training session.
Next time it may be a call out and they'll be ranging the fellsides for real.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.