simisue

By simisue

JURY DUTY

Today I was summoned to my
County Court House for Jury Duty.
It is located on the Pacific Coast, but there was no time for walking on the beach.
This was serious business.

I was in a group of at least 200 others,
who might get chosen as jurors on several
trials. I was in a group of 30 who
were considered for a 2-week murder trial. Luckily, my last name is at the end of the alphabet, so the judge & lawyers
accepted others, before they got to me.

I served on a jury for a gang murder trial about 20 years ago. It haunts me to this day, so I was relieved to be excused.

The Court House complex has beautiful
landscaping & has this fountain in front.
Inside is all business.

My navigation took me home the back way,
along the agricultural fields, so I avoided one of the busiest freeways in California.

I am so glad to be home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.