Journey Through Time

By Sue

Western Tiger Swallowtail

Went to the Wildlife Botanical Garden today to see what was happening. Lots was happening! There were quite a few of the volunteers who were working on their garden spaces. I walked through and you can see my images on my Flickr set, starting here. And I gotta just say, that summer exploded up there recently. Wow, the color, the perennials, the overblown lushness that is summer was just eye candy of the highest order. A feast!

I have to admit, I was and maybe still am, totally confused on what to call this butterfly. I have finally figured out, I think, that there are many different kinds of North American Swallowtail butterflies, and this is the Western Tiger Swallowtail. I think. This one has a tear in it's wing. The one I saw in my yard and got a photo of awhile back had a huge chunk missing from it's rear wings. It's a tough world.

I wanted to get this posted and head out for a bit of a walk. So, catch ya later, my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.