Arachne

By Arachne

Dereliction/Destruction

I was still so tired this morning that once I discovered that to visit the Cappella de Scrovegni I should have booked months ago, I hadn't the energy to read about what else there is to see in Padua. So I mostly lazed until...

it occurred to me that the fatigue and headache might be caffeine withdrawal. I usually have two cups of coffee a day. Yesterday I had one and today I'd had none. I made myself a cup of coffee and sure enough, the headache lifted and I felt able to go out. I gave myself 90 minutes for the 15-minute walk to our choir rehearsal.

First I stumbled across this derelict stained glass. How has that not been rescued?

Minutes later, I walked into the Chiesa degli Eremitani, admired its bold red and yellow brick stripes then noticed a mono photo that stopped me entirely. It was a picture of the church just after it was bombed by Anglo-US forces in 1944, thereby severely damaging 500-year-old frescoes by Mantegna. (Here's a well written blog with more info if you're interested. It is, of course, not only in Europe that culture is destroyed.)
What are three stained glass balconies in comparison to that?

After our rehearsal - as ever, I have more to learn than there is time for - I had another evening amble. Padua really is an astonishingly beautiful city.

I got back to news about the Cappella de Scrovegni. More tomorrow.


Extras:
Exquisite brick arch
Angel (or something) on a pinhead (or something)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.