Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A day of four quarters?

You’ll be familiar, I’m sure, with the “game of two halves “ cliché; I’m adapting it to try to make sense of a very full day…

So: first photo is of the statues on Port Glasgow paying homage to the shipbuilding industry of the past, in front of the new CalMac ferry, still not in service, the Glen Sannox. We drove past on our way to Glasgow for one of our regular lunches with my cousin and his wife in what so far is my favourite Italian restaurant, La Lanterna West End in Kelvinbridge. That’s where the second photo was taken: my delicious main course of fish with risotto - wonderfully tangy with lemon and wee tomatoes.

After a quick ride on the Subway back to Buchanan Galleries to get the car, we were directed by the ever-useful Waze onto the M8 and off to Edinburgh. The third photo is of the magnificent magnolia in my son’s garden there; the garden is full of fallen petals but it’s still lovely.

And the fourth photo? We discovered that our older grandson had a training match at his football club, so off we went to drink tea in the clubhouse and watch what turned out to be a most exciting and proud-grandparents-gratifying game as the sun went down and the moon grew brighter and the floodlights came on.

Now once more it’s past midnight and I need to stop this , plug in my phone and sleep. Night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.