CatoBlips

By lenycato

crossover

painting.....

they're ofter 'rained off' at the moment...showers galore.....

back blipping this shot cos my iMac came back monday...I followed the interactions and thought restoring from Time Machine would be a doodle....it was in the end...but only after 3 different Apple consultants...

The company that replaced the HD gave me slightly wrong advice on how to restore from TH....so I ended up with several users and badly working permissions, and an Aperture library that went only as far as 12/2012

Finally after a newrly bruised ear....1.30 hr on phone, the lovely Apple lady yesterday said...I get you one of the senior staff to help you.

They rang and gave me the REAL thing...so here it goes:

switch off Mac
press power potion and immediately hold down the alt key
this brings up a window where you can choose which disk you want to use as start up disk
choose the disk which is used for ? back-ups

follow the instructions and choose the date you want to back up from

pour yourself a drink and read a book for a few hours...and hey presto...

everything is again the very same set up as the old one....

I'm really glad!!!!

Now when it's your turn to do this...please ring an Apple helpline and ask for a senior assistant....he told me the others should have told me this.....:):)
and the moral of this story....

you can trust Time Machine...yay!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.