ExtraDays

By ExtraDays

Looking for Warblers

I hadn't been to Whitaker Ponds since I went along with Eric's class on a field trip there twenty-some years ago. It wasn't my favorite field trip by a long shot with boys getting wet feet moments after orders and cautions; it was cold and it was wet. But I've changed my mind: today's outing with D & B was complete fun. SO many birds, and so many great birders on the trail. The trees were outstanding, the weather perfect. Now I want to return with Eric  early on Saturday morning.
"Whitaker Ponds Natural Area is home to two ponds, a ½ mile loop trail, an ecoroof-covered gazebo, and a canoe launch into Whitaker Slough. The two ponds are surrounded by a black cottonwood forest which has been enhanced over the past 15 years with thousands of native plants. Native shrubs and wildflowers support local pollinators in the summertime, and the path around the West pond park highlights plant communities from the Northwest."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.