NotCuthbert

By NotCuthbert

Deadheads

It's been a lovely day today, but I only managed a little while gardening. And most of that time was spent managing the extensive crop of dandelions that we are cultivating. 

It continues to surprise me that there is such a variety between different plants - in terms of overall size, number of flowers, size of flowers, length of stalks, and more.

My crop in the photo are the tops that have already pleased us with their yellow displays.  And much as I love the clocks, I don't want to encourage them to spread their 1000s of seeds. 

I am not very hopeful that deadheading them will stimulate more flowers, but that would be a positive side effect. The heads will be dumped on our wild compost heap where all things not fit for the compost bins go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.