esiuol

By esiuol

Loch Ardinning

The Met Office weather app last night said that today would be dry but cloudy. Overnight this had changed to 50% chance of rain by 9 am getting far worse by 10am. On this information we headed for a walk at Loch Ardinning Wildlife Reserve just after 8am. It had already started to rain by the time we got there but it was only slight and there was no wind so fine for walking.
As soon as we arrived we heard lovely birdsong. The Merlin app confirmed that it was a Willow Warbler, this was the dominant song throughout our walk, and beautiful it is too. The second wonderful call we heard was ‘cook-coo, cook-coo’ over and over again, my first cuckoo of the year, fantastic! I was even able to spot both birds through binoculars although the camera I had with me has a maximum range of 300mm so the shots are not very good but I’m going to blip them anyway as they mean a lot to me.
Main: Willow Warbler
1st Extra: Cuckoo (you will have to believe me, it is atop the tree to the right of centre!)
2nd Extra: some lovely beasts heading our way

By the time we got back to the car, it was pouring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.