snap_in_my_day

By snap_in_my_day

Why Did We End Up Here...

Rewind to Saturday...
Mid afternoon Ruben got picked up from home to go play football in his Uni team... From there he went somewhere else to watch our Brisbane Roar (A league competition) on a big screen play away... The rain had arrived and he was catching the train home I messaged him to say I'd pick him up from our local station as it's only a short drive down around the corner, keeping in mind I'm 17 days post surgery and first time behind the wheel but with so much rain he'd be soaking by the time he'd walk home... So I drove very slowly as it's just a backstreet... I wait for the train, it's late due to the rain, it leaves but there's no Ruben, I know he's missed his stop, I wait for the next train going in the opposite direction, thinking if he missed his stop he'd get off at the next stop and catch the next train back... Well he wasn't on that train either and I hadn't heard from him... So I send a message asking where he is but I get no reply... So I phone him... In a very slurred conversation, yes he'd missed his stop and he had gotten off at the next stop but the train going in the opposite direction had left so he was waiting for the next train...
Ggrrrr he sounded very drunk (his first time in this state), so I told him to stay there and I'd drive the 12 minutes to get him... 2 options - go the way with traffic lights and be stop start but 60 km/h or go out on the motorway with minimal stop start but 100 km/h... I did the 2nd option and because it was raining I stayed in the left lane and did 70 km/h and thankfully being 10pm at night there wasn't a lot of traffic... I collected Ruben and started the drive home... Ruben said he didn't realise I was picking him up as he knew I wasn't keen to drive yet, I said to read his messages, turns out he hadn't seen my message about picking him up from our train station... Then David phones asking where we are and I'm telling him and Ruben is trying to talk also, I said we were halfway home...
We get home and Ruben goes inside and it takes me a bit to get out of the car and go inside where Ruben and David are talking and I just say I have to go to bed and rest, as it was never my intention to drive that far but on sensing the state Ruben was in it was best to go get him... I was angry at myself for being the protective mum and doing the right thing but in my condition I shouldn't have been put in that position... I left the boys and just went to bed... Then apparently when Ruben went to go lay down he then was sick over himself, his bedding, the carpet... David came and told me but I said there was nothing I could do so they'd have to deal with it and I stayed in bed...
Sunday morning I slept in and David was doing some washing but we knew there'd need to be a drive to the laundromat as Ruben's doona is too big to go in our old washing machine, so about 11am I drop Ruben and his bedding to the laundromat, we split it between 2 machines as the doona needs a gentle cycle, I leave him there with instructions on using the dryers and I got home because it's going to be an hour and I can't sit there and wait so I go home to rest and he'll message when it's all washed and dried...
Just after 12pm I get a message saying he's ready, so I drive the 3 minutes down the road to collect him and I say that he can pay for pizza to have for lunch, he gives me a look and I say no you can pay for it since I've put myself out for him... If he hadn't consumed so much alcohol then none of this would have happened... So it was his fault he had to spend money using the laundromat and then paying for lunch... Hopefully he's learnt a lesson... I've spent the afternoon in bed resting and dealing with some niggles of pain...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.