Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Wheatear #47

This morning I had a couple of hours at The Spinnies, a nice little reserve that is famous for its kingfishers. However, this time of the year they are not often seen as they are off breeding somewhere down the river. 
But I did pick up 3 new birds for this year - a Black Swan that has been around for a few years, 3 Sandwich Terns and a Willow Warbler. 
On the back field opposite the Viley Hide were a handful of pipits and a pair of wheatears. This is the female and I like its more muted tones. 

I went back to Henllys for a delicious lunch at Harry's Bistro with my husband. And then in the afternoon went on an unsuccessful search for some sand martins on the road to Penmon. I found where they live, but there was nobody at home!  Maybe they have moved or maybe they are still on holiday???

When I got back it was still lovely and warm so I went up to the woods to look for the red squirrels again. This time I saw two - one on the feeder and one high up in the woods so some poor shots only. Before I leave I hope to have a decent shot of one :) 

A thoroughly lovely way to spend my birthday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.