Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Bees and bombardiers

Second day. Same walk as yesterday to start the day.

I cut through the town gardens on the way home. 

Discovered that the name of the gardens 'Jardines de Lombardero' translates as 'Bombardier Gardens'. 

Spent the rest of the day continuing the preparation of the new vegetable bed. I also got the hedge trimmer out to clear some growth from a wall, but had to stop when I came up against a bees nest.

M informed our neighbour whose husband has an allergic reaction to stings. Talking of stings, one of my recently placed traps caught an asian hornet (vespa velutina), tempted by my coctail of triple-malt dark beer and diluted IKEA berry concentrate.

Personally I don't mind these velutinas. Unlike regular wasps which are a pest, they tend to mind their own business.

The reason for trapping them is that they are an invasive species and they devastate bee colonies.

It would be ironic if I were now to be stung by one of the bees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.