michigan man

By outdoorguy

Not a Grand Couple of Days

What does this room look like? IT'S A HOSPITAL ROOM!

After supper on Friday night, I said to wife/nurse Lisa..."I don't think my tummy feels too good." 

"Is it your tummy or your intestines?"

I went to bed, hoping for the best...but the best never arrived. The pain wouldn't go away, and when Lisa got on the phone with sister/nurse Dayna, I knew I was in trouble.

By 1 p.m. Saturday., I was in the waiting room, and by 5 p.m., they were preparing a room for me. Why? I have another bout of diverticulitus. and my white count (?) was high, and they were worried about infection.

As luck would have it, I had a roommate named Rich, I immediately wanted to go to sleep at 6 p.m., but not Rich. He was watching a Harry Potter marathon on TV, and arguing with his wife whether Dumbledore was dead. Finally at 10 p.m., the nurse asked me if it would be ok if Rich left his phone on to play classical music. Not wanting to alienate him, I said sure.

I thought he might have a big play list, but it was one song! ONE SONG! The 3 minute theme song from the movie Patton by Henry Mancini. I like the music, but imagine listening to one song for 6 hours! He finally turned it off at 4 a.m.

Plus, they were pumping me full of fluids and antibiotics, and I had to pee every 3 hours.

My first night in a hospital will not be remembered with great fondness. We were released at 6 p.m., and I am trying to stay awake until the sun goes down. Plus, I get to sup on soup and jello for a few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.