ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Windmill 'De Morgenster', Aarlanderveen

'Morgenster' = 'morgen' sounds like 'morgan' = 'morning star'
'Aarlanderveen' = 'AR-lander-veyn'

Chunks of thick traffic heading northwest, flock of thick grey woolly sheep clouds to the east.  Even here, a constant movement of sun and shadow.  On the one hand, not much choice.  On the other hand, spoilt for choice.

The last time I was here, this was a Plan A that didn't push through.  Today, it was still facing away from the road (Teqla is parked somewhere behind it) but then I realized that this might be a default position.  Last time, the gate to the house across the water from it was shut.  Today, though, it was wide open and the owner was tending his tulips.  I approached him and asked if it was possible to shoot the mill from his garden and from the side of his house facing the mill.  I got a wide smile and a 'No problem!'

The Morgenster was built in 1870 to replace an earlier mill that had burnt to the ground, most likely due to a lightning strike.  In 2020 it was for sale but no one is sure at the present time if the sale did take place.  Even the owner of the house and garden I asked permission from wasn't sure.  Oh well...

17 points if you can spot the garden chairs!

Extra 1 -- a vertical shot
Extra 2 -- a view of the Aarlanderveen polder area

It was cloudy in the south when I left, but warm and sunny when I got back, so AW and I took a 5-km. walk in the late afternoon.  Later, after dinner, we went to town for dessert at our favourite Argentinian grill.

Thankful for a lovely day doing things we like!  Just before my very late bedtime, a long email from the Viking but I texted him that it will have to wait till the next day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.