heanku

By heanku

Tirana

Today it was time to experience Tirana, the capital of Albania. We started at the large Skanderbeg Square. Skanderbeg is an Albanian war hero who lived in the 15th century. Statues of him can be seen in several places in Albania. There was a statue of him here in the square as well, but I do not show it, it is the National History Museum with a mosaic frieze over the entrance you see. The museum was closed due to renovation. Furthermore, I can state that these, in my opinion, annoying scooters are available in Tirana as well. 
Extras: The street life is lively, there are many cars, and so are the people. But just as I was about to photograph the bustling street life, it was almost empty, only the flower vendor on the street corner sat there calmly and waited for customers. So you have to take my word for it. 
There is a lot of construction going on in Tirana, and it seems that the next one wants to build taller buildings than the last one. It was really fun to see all the imaginative architecture.
In Sweden, we usually joke about when someone is slow to start when it turns green, that "Are you going to wait until the whole pole turns green?" Yes, here the pole will be green. Red too and yellow. So clever. That is the kind of light poles I want in my town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.