swift

By swift

Cathedrals…

This one is Ely. It’s big. I never thought I’d get picky about cathedrals, especially as I’m not a believer, but to me, this felt extremely large and almost ungainly. We didn’t go in as it cost £14 each so have probably missed the most important elements. I did like the octagonal towers, and many of the buildings around it were lovely, but for me… Well, of course it wasn’t built for my delight and the history is fascinating. I grew up near Lichfield, by the way, where there’s a small, extremely graceful cathedral and I still believe Lichfield to have the loveliest of all cathedrals. I may be biased! But I do think Lichfield cathedral very underrated.
We have moved from Suffolk to Cambridgeshire, taking in the Ickworth Estate en route and enjoying East Anglia’s finest selection of freezing fen winds throughout. Nice hotel with amusing manager and very pleasant lunch in family run Italian restaurant. I noted how stylish an Italian man can look in a cardigan, though didn’t mention this to M.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.