Nature Watcher

By NatureWatcher

The Hoffman Kiln

Yesterday I took my car to get an estimate for repairing the damage to my car after the bump a few days ago.  It needs a new bumper, at least it will be covered by insurance.

While I was there I went to the Llanymynech Heritage Area.  The area used to be a centre for the  limestone industy until the early 20th century.

This is the Hoffman kiln which was used for burning the limestone and is one of only three left in the country and the only one with a surviving chimney (42 meteres high). 

The limestone was transported by the canal which runs close by and later by the Cambrian Railway (a preserved line from Oswestry). More information here

My blips are of the chimney, the outside of the canal with metal figures of workers and of the inside of the kiln.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.