Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Woolgathering

'Woolgathering' was a sixteenth-century term for the trade of collecting loose tufts of wool caught on thorns and fences by passing sheep. Later, it became a phrase that embodied daydreaming."  It is such an old fashion phrase that is seldom used now.  This Tuftie gathered his Alpaca wool from the nesting ball I hung but I have seen crows pulling wool from the backs of resting sheep in Scotland.  The sheep didn't seem to mind.  I've added an extra of the Tuftie in action.  I think I have to say that this is one of my favorite photos so far this year.  The Tuftie spent some time carefully stuffing the wool in his beak so as not to drop any.  Was he also daydreaming of the young ones soon to be born?  I'd like to think so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.