Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Between leaving my last job and starting this one I took a much-needed break in France with the enigmatic Mystère. On my way home I caught Covid. I had hoped that I could delay my start date by a week without causing too much of a problem but no, the only person who knew how to do my job was about to undergo major surgery and we had only a week for the hand-over. I had a couple of days in bed feeling wretched and then he taught me my job over three days via the interweb where I couldn't infect him. When he returned to the office some seven weeks later he was pleased to see that I'd swum, not sunk.
Although the culture in my office is appalling and I care not at all for most of my colleagues, this is the one person I have time for and with whom I'd like to maintain some kind of contact.
Most staff were off on a jolly to Thorpe Park today but I honestly couldn't imagine a worse day out, so chose to spend the day almost alone in the office. Next week this particular colleague will be on annual leave and so yesterday was our final day together in the office.
When I arrived at work this morning I found this card and gift from him hidden in my top drawer.
Bless him!
I believe his choice of a sinking ship is not tongue-in-cheek and I will keep my eyes open for a lifebelt for him if nobody else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.