Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Avocets

It was a glorious day, the best we've had this year. The sun was quite warm at times.

We had the day at Leighton Moss RSPB nature reserve and started at the Allen and Eric Morecambe hides. I really wanted to see the avocets. It was the first time I've seen them here and a very long time since I saw them in Norfolk. That makes this blip a first for me.

Another first was a flying osprey in Extras. We watched it flying for quite a while, always away from us, maybe something to do with wind direction I've only once before had sight of a flying osprey and not with a camera in my hands.

This is our list for the day, though I didn't see about 6 of them as I had overdone things and had to go and rest in the car while The Man visited other hides. 10,000 steps was enough for me, especially as I was in wellies.

Avocet
Blackcap
Black-headed gull
Blue Tit
Bullfinch
Buzzard
Canada goose
Carrion Crow
Chiffchaff
Collared Dove
Coot
Dunnock
Gadwall
Great Crested Grebe
Greater Black-backed gull
Greylag goose
Heron
Lapwing
Little Egret
Magpie
Mallard
Marsh Harrier
Mute Swan
Osprey
Oystercatcher
Pheasant
Redshank
Robin
Rook
Shelduck
Shoveler
Song Thrush
Teal
Treecreeper
Tufted duck
Wren

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.