Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Rio Grande Southern Locomotive #20

While I am building the general store for Dolores from a few blips before so  I am enjoying running trains.  This locomotive is my all time favorite - and the first one I purchased.  It is also a PBL brass locomotive with amazing real details, DCC sound, and original weathering by PBL.  It is not a new model with time on the clock but still runs very well.

My #20 has backed into the depression at the Delores station.  This depression allows flat cars to back in for unloading vehicles and crates.  Also, it lowers the locomotive so the man with a shovel behind the loco basically just filled the tender with coal - spilling a few for sure.  

Maybe my favorite of this model is the temporary herald on the tender.  It was put on the tender for a movie being made on the RGS.  The filming was done and the locomotive was quickly pressed into service because it was the time of year for cattle and sheep to get loaded and sent to processing.  It is called the "Clipper Ship Herald".

Finally, I noticed that the fireman is quickly doing some oiling.

The extra is a photo sent to me by my friend.  The real #20 is running at the Colorado Railroad Museum in Denver so I included it for comparison to my model.  Must be right in that the real #20 is totally renovated and runs, and the engineer that day in the photo is Jimmy Booth from PBL Models who does all the painting of their locomotives and a really nice guy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.