chrisrandall58

By chrisrandall58

Moving on

Went to a colleague’s retirement do in Lewes office at lunchtime today. Sue has been with the firm for 21 years. We worked very closely together for many years. The CEO that is now in charge did a speech for her and produced some old photos, but then went on to give a short blurb about me which I had not expected. He said to me that it wasn’t my retirement do as yet (because I don’t finish completely for another 6 months) but he also produced old photos of me, including the selection in the blip, one of which is me standing talking to Geoff Hurst, one of my childhood heroes, and now the only surviving member of the 1966 World Cup team. I gave an impromptu response to his speech but it doesn’t feel real to be retired as yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.