Around the Block

By Barrioboy

Rings

I had to take off my rings for my recent operation. It looked a daunting task until I tried it - a combination of olive oil and soap did the trick without too much tugging and coaxing.

I was waiting to be sure I wouldn’t need another op. before putting them back on and, after yesterday’s reassuring news, just as I was about to do so today, this blip opportunity presented itself! You don’t say ‘no’, do you!

The one on the left is my own wedding ring designed and made in Orkney by Ortak. You can just make out the engraved date of our wedding day, 13-7-90. The signet ring was my father’s wedding ring which originally had his signature of ‘AMcF’ engraved on the top, now almost totally erased after the 24 years of hard butcher’s work during which he wore it from 1953 to his death in 1977, and a further 47 years thereafter during which I’ve worn it with lesser, but not insignificant, city-boy wear and tear.

Weird to think that next year I will have worn it twice as long as he did!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.