Arachne

By Arachne

Cefalù

I've mentioned this before but I'm still intrigued at how one place instantly feels good and another doesn't. I caught the first train out of Messina this morning and was falling in love with Cefalù within minutes of getting off two hours later, even before I came across the huge tubs of flowers on the many steps in the town (it's squeezed steeply between the sea and a huge chunk of rock).

I ambled the medieval streets feeling very much better than yesterday, even though I am coming down with a cold. I climbed the cathedral tower and was thrilled to hear the bells chiming very near me and to realise it was noon. I was able to slither under a bar and get closer to the bells than I was probably allowed. Slithering out again onto the steep spiral staircase took care.

Outside the cathedral a smartly dressed man pointed at me, and his even more elegantly dressed partner came up and asked if I'd take some photos of them. They'd just got married in the City Hall opposite. They had a proper camera with them and they when they looked at what I'd done, he said, pleased, 'Ask someone with a camera'!

I went into the old communal laundry-house, where basins and stones were set to catch river water and empty waste water out into the sea. Washing laundry by hand must have been very hard work, especially when it was cold, but I can imagine doing it socially would have made it more bearable.

I wandered round until I was too tired to do any more, had an hour's sleep then started again. I intended to climb the huge rock behind the city but it was dangerous because of all this afternoon's rain, so was closed.

Down on the beach at sunset the wedding couple walked past and smiled then I offered to take photos for two young men supporting a very frail older man - their father I assume. The affection among all three was very touching.

Extras:
- Illicit bells
- Licit arches
- An extraordinary vine, whose roots must be the other side of the wall.
- Cefalù after sunset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.