TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

We’re going to charge you a fee to pay your taxes

Liverpool finally got a win, quite convincing too, but it’s too little and too late. Today never really got going for me. I spent far too long going through the CRA website finding a way to pay my taxes. There was a direct debit option, which never usually appeals to me, but I thought I’d give it a go. Got all the way to the end and then discovered they wanted to charge me a fee for using that option. A fee? To pay my taxes?
 
I was so shocked, I looked around the site and found a section called “Why we charge a fee to use this service”. The answer was even more astounding: to improve the user experience. Needless to say, I didn’t use it. Cheeky bar stewards. They make it so difficult to pay by cheque… So, I haven’t paid! That’ll teach them. Surely, the most logical thing to do is to make it easier for people to pay what they owe? I’m a believer in paying taxes – not more than I need to, obviously – so why make it hard?
 
Caelan came over in the afternoon to run the cat gauntlet and get some much-needed practice on FIFA24.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.