TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

A day of errands and, well, other stuff

Despite all evidence to the contrary, I was up and working when Mrs Ottawacker asked me, in her most persuasive tone, to drive her into the office so she could pick up some printing and go to a meeting. “Just think,” she said. “You can then go on to the optometrist and get them to repair the glasses you broke when you were half cut a couple of weeks ago.” Not that she keeps score or anything.
 
Faced with such logic, what is a man to do? So I did. Down we drove, and on I went. Sadly, the lady at the optometrist told me my frames were beyond repair (which I sort of expected as parts had flown off in various directions). “But we can order you a new frame for $999.99,” she said.
 
I must have visibly blanched, because she changed tack and apologized. “Sorry, that is for the whole replacement, the frames are $249. They are no longer under warranty, you see.”
 
That, I also knew. In fact, having broken the frame about a year ago (in a non-alcohol-related incident) and had them replaced under warranty, i couldn’t expect much more. But still she went on. “However, if the lenses have shrunk – and they sometimes do,” she said, catching the look of disbelief on my face, “then they can be refitted free of charge.”
 
Some things in life, I will never understand. Optometrists are one of them.
 
From there I ran some more errands, posted some letters, did some more New Zealand work, and then took Ottawacker Jr to his biweekly elbow physio. We finally managed to get a doctor’s appointment (for tomorrow), so hopefully we can get pushed on to an ultrasound appointment and then get to the bottom of what the problem is. He’s not happy not being a goalkeeper. As you can probably tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.