Life Savors

By osuzanna

Elephants!

I have taken 100's of photos of elephants during this trip which will take ma long time to go through.  Twice we came across a large herd (not sure if it was the same one) mud bathing.  It was so much fun to watch this as the little ones lay down in the mud covering themselves while the adults were busy throwing mud on themselves, the purpose of which is to protect their skin.  

This photo popped out to me as it is so sweet and it shows the magnificent countryside where were are spending these 10 days.  There are only 12 photographers here exploring 43 square miles with our fearless leader Hector Astorga and his assistant Lisa LaPointe, and the amazing knowledgable reserve guides and the lodge staff who are just incredible.  And the food is delicious!  There are three game vehicles, our "safari Ferraris," (see extras) which we use twice a day for game drives or to get to the various hides. 

This is a backblip - I am weeks behind as I came home quite exhausted dealing with jet lag and then started radiation treatments which will be done next week.  So far no significant side effects so I am optimistic.  Anyway, I will keep plugging away at this as it is so much fun to relive these memories and find little treasures in the photos that I didn't see at the time I was shooting because so much was happening.  

Some of you have seen some photos on Facebook.  For those who haven't, if you are interested, I have uploaded a few to this Flickr Album.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.