Hyperion

By Hyperion

Tamara Way 4

A last minute decision today to walk my next leg of the Tamara Way, the coast-to-coast trail which runs roughly along the Devon/Cornwall border and follows the River Tamar. My walk started at Lopwell Dam two hours after high tide so that I could cross the River Tavy on the walkway which is impassable 2 hours either side of high tide. The trail then runs for about 9 miles around the Bere Alston Peninsula to this point. The only crossing here to Calstock is the railway viaduct, so the trail turns back inland to Bere Alston from where a train will take you across the viaduct to Calstock. I think they were proposing to have an electric powered ferry for use in the summer months. My walk today continued on to Bere Alson then back to The starting point at Lopwell Dam. A grand distace of 13 miles! A wonderful walk through quiet, peaceful and little-visited countryside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.