pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Spring??

We had a walk at lunchtime along the beach. It was bracing, to put it mildly. Trying to rain, a gale blowing and not at all spring like. Bring back the lovely sunny weather we had when we went to Sandringham for the weekend, please!!

We also had a sneaky lunch out at the old rock shop Bistro which is always a treat. Especially lucky that they had a table free, as we have to book at a weekend.

We are both at work tomorrow, but then have a long weekend off to celebrate our anniversary on Monday. So today I see as a little early start to the weekend of treats. If I can, I’ll blip. It will be 35 years, so we decided worth celebrating and so we are going to Ironbridge on Saturday for a few days.

Mollie came round for dinner. I’d made cardamom chicken from Michael Moseley’s cookery book. All low calorie but tasty meals. Henry had been in Cambridge since Tuesday doing his final Electrician exams, practical and written. So we are all keeping our fingers crossed he has passed. We should know in a week or 2. Then he will no longer be an apprentice- and will hopefully get a pay rise.

I’ve been doing some craft stuff this evening. A present for a friend. I hope to finish it tomorrow after work. Now we are huddled under blankets, because it is sooooo cold. Jon said today the only time he is warm is when he is in bed. I feel the same and it is very tiring. If anyone has any ideas about how we can heat our house at a more reasonable cost, please let me know. I’m thinking we need a wood burner. I believe the cost to install will be about £3000. Jon is wondering about replacing our electric boiler system with an oil system because oil is so much cheaper…but an oil tank, oil boiler, piping, more radiators. I don’t think so!!

Roll on summer!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.