Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Those were the days!

I popped into the Cancer Research shop to drop something off and had a quick look around afterwards (well it would be rude not to). This dinner set caught my eye as it is the one I was brought up with although our bowls had a rim - essential for putting your plum and prune stones on so you could do the fortune telling rhyme to see who you were going to marry. Mine was wrong btw.
It's Alfred Meakin Hedgerow pattern. I don't have any of our original set left, but I did pick up a couple of egg cups a few years ago which are just the right size for coconut pyramid moulds.
Other than that, I had my nails done, first time since before Christmas so I'm enjoying being sparkly again.
I popped in to see the girls, they'd both taken part in a school talent show, Eilidh singing the song from the musical Six about Henry the Eighth's wives and Isobel doing dance and gymnastics!.
Isobel was also very pleased that her dad had gone into school today to talk about his job in the police. Mum is going in on Friday to talk about being a paediatrician too so she's very happy. They're clearly doing a theme around people's jobs, although it could be that perennial favourite of People Who Help Us, I guess. It's unusual that her parents are able to be free to go into school so she's very excited.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.