An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Quaker Meeting House...

Following on from my Methodist Church blip and Salvation Army blip, it was suggested that I cover all faith's local buildings, though those two were in Fordingbridge, rather than this Quaker's being in Salisbury.

Opening in Spring 2010, this building was previously an outpatients ward of the local psychiatric hospital, largely derelict, very tatty and then closed down for good.

The Quaker's then completely had it refurbished, I recall them refusing lottery award funding as their strict principles do not allow any gains from gambling (!)

Their previous Meeting House was previously in an innocuous side street and was just a converted house. These premises here are also popular function rooms - my cycling group holds its AGM here, for instance.

I intentionally shot it at night, a cloudy one and the light intensity from the nearby street-lamp had the area on the right over-bright and the rest in diminishing shadow, so a fair amount of selective Photoshopping exposure control.

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm.

More on Luke's portrait - when I texted him that it had briefly made top Spotlight place, he replied simply "Lordy!" He had previously found the image of himself as "a gooden, methinks, although it makes me cringe a little". I suppose that is understandable given how revealing of himself it was but I also had hoped that he thought it was a masterpiece and should be hung in the National Portrait Gallery...

I was also quite surprised how popular my concrete car-park blip of yesterday was and it got into the Spotlight - as always, thanks for that!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.