today's another day

By dbrereton

Cross words

Out for a run today, I plodded home past Heywood Cricket Club, to see if my friend Darren was playing in the match.

He wasn't there, his team were elsewhere, but I noticed the innings was 9 down, so i sat and watched a few overs.

Soon, a guy with a dog walked up and asked me if I had done a marathon, as he'd read my t-shirt. No only a half I said, I did one, just one, hardest thing Ive ever done he replied.

We struck up a friendly conversation and soon he said he hadnt done much training as at the time he was a footballer.

Immediately, I'm wondering who he is. We talk more, he asks my name, David I say, oh I'm a David too. The conversation flows and we talk about football, how VAR has ruined it, whats wrong with it now, the clubs he's played for and his life in general.

He started his career at Rochdale, and in his latter years played for clubs in the northwest so he could come home. The ones between you'll have heard of, and he's an FA Cup winners medal too.

A proper chin wag, like we used to before the internet. I finished by saying lets have a selfie because my older mates on the pub always said you were Dale's best player when they were kids, and I needed to show them.

A lovely bloke is David Cross. Made my sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.