Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Answering the call

The call went out this morning that the surf was up at Newcastle beach. I arrived just before first light at around 6.20 and there was only one surfer out. As I headed down the beach these guys arrived. Despite it being school holidays, these were more mature gentlemen. One is even wearing a helmet. He was quite good too to my eyes. By the time I came back there were 24 out there including that well known Russian surfer, Ivan Dropinovich. You could hear the rumblings on the beach. The younger generation arrived after sunrise. It was a lovely morning. Better still, I saw at least 3 whales from the park when walking the Hs.

Thanks so much for you kind response to yesterdays. I am a bit slow tonight on comments so it might take a while. And Happy 4th of July to our American Blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.