On Some Days

By V1k1

Closing Time . . . Leonard Cohen

Not closing immediately but my nephew has made the big decision to retire.  He has listed his property with a real estate company.  He has been growing and selling raspberries for thirty years.  The farm has been in his family since 1909.  He is the fourth generation to make a living growing food to sell.  
Since being established by the first Mayor of Christchurch, William (Cabbage) Wilson, as an orchard and nursery block in the 1880’s, the property now grows 2.8 hectares of raspberries, along with a substantial area of outdoor tomatoes. The huge taste advantage over their hothouse cousins makes them very popular.
My link to the property is my sister who went to live there after marrying.  At first she sold eggs from her wash house as well as looking after two small boys.  When I was little there were orchards and I even remember taking the small, lovely daughter to see the apple and pear trees.  They were pretty in the spring.  I am pleased for him.  His father never retired and sadly before he died said he had regrets for the things he didn't do.  My nephew has realised he doesn't have to be his father.  My sister and brother in laws home and land is also going on the market.   
I rushed this photo but that's the way it goes.  Tonight we are back home in Richmond and tomorrow I will catch up with journals.    

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.