HareBrain

By HareBrain

GOODBYE

Just back from Berkshire for Belinda, my Sis-in-L’s Funeral.  Very good journeys both ways, 5 1/2 hours in all though.

We arrived in plenty of time for the service and took our seats reminding me of seven years ago sitting in the same pew in this beautiful old Church in Lambourn when we attended my Brother’s funeral.  The service we attended today for Belinda was a celebration of her good and happy life and was really lovely.  Very personal to the family and letters which Belinda’s two daughters had written to her were read out beautifully and poems read by the grandchildren.  I loved the one on the back of the service sheet under a picture of Belinda, which reads:

 Goodbye my family, My life is past
I loved you all, to the very last
Weep not for me, but courage take
Love each other, for my sake
For those you love don’t go away
They walk beside you, every day.


The lady who had done the beautiful flowers was Belinda’s cousin and a florist by trade.  The arrangements were all picked from her garden except for the Lillies.  After the funeral we helped Sarah remove two large jugs of flowers and the coffin flowers which we took up to the graveyard and placed on the grave.  Belinda and my dear Brother are now together again in peace.

Although a sad occasion it was very good to see my two Nieces again and their families.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.