Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

I walked to work in the sunshine. What a treat! No hi-vis, none of that palaver, and under twenty minutes door-to-door. En route I received kind messages from three former colleagues who were obviously witnessing my empty former desk. I walked past these alms houses in Dame Alice Street. I've always found the tatty chimney-stockings amusing – I wonder what Dame Alice was actually like.
Such a warm welcome on arrival at the new office. People are really friendly and supportive and the building caters so much better for people working than the workplace I have left. I learned very quickly that although we can choose how to pace our 7.5 hour day, most people work 8 till 4 with a 30-minute break for lunch. Good! That was how our days were organised at Viridor and suits me very well indeed. Those are the hours I shall be working from now on.

The only hurdle, and it is a very big one, is the software used to create drawings. I have loved AutoCAD for the last 30 years and I use it for more than drawings. It's my software of choice for collages and also some personal letters, but my new employer uses something different and I need to unlearn AutoCAD and learn Bentley Microstation. This was mentioned at my interview and I almost baulked, but then decided to face up to the challenge, it's a rite-of-passage that almost all staff at my new place have had to endure.
But it did mean that my first day had some very frustrating moments and by the end I was very tired and not-quite tearful.

Onwards and upwards. Nobody worth their salt got anywhere without some personal effort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.