Gwin Zegal, Plouha

A cloudy start with rain forecast, so I stayed home this morning catching up on the website (more French resources - yippee - thanks to a keen Frenchman who lives in Mexico!) and mundane house stuff.

I wanted to finish my cycling adventures with a trip to Plouha this afternoon, but decided to make it shorter. I put the bike on the back of the car, and after dropping off Alice at school, I drove to Gwin Zegal (Plouha's bizarre but beautiful harbour) where I parked the car and took to the bike. I thought it would be interesting to cycle to Kergeffroy in Plouha where Dad's mum was born. My great-grandfather was a "matelot" according to the census, and Gwin Zegal is the closest port.

I cycled it in a few minutes, but it would have taken a lot longer to walk. It's 6.5 kilometres from the hamlet of Kergeffroy to the top of the cliffs overlooking Gwin Zegal. Then it's a long way to the bottom. Plouha has the highest cliffs in Brittany at 104 metres. I walked part way down to take some photos. A couple of fishermen seemed to be amused by my apparent exertion as I climbed back up. They said something about it being hard work, and something about age! :-)

Things seem to be winding down a bit at school, with Alice saying they've had longer "recrés" and lots of bonbons! One more day of school.

One of Alice's friends wrote her a note, with lots of kisses, hearts and cats:
Pour Alice, ma copine, tu va me manqué. Tu es gentille avec nous!!!! Tu va nous faire pleurer. Je t'aimerai pour tout la vie. Je t'aime Alice. I love you. Bisous ma copine.

(For Alice, my friend. I am going to miss you. You are nice with us!!! You are going to make us cry. I will love you for all my life. I love you Alice. Kisses my friend.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.