Mrsmacdub

By Mrsmacdub

Pilates, books and baking

I’ve decided not to eat any breakfast at all on a Tuesday morning as it isn’t good to have food sitting in your stomach when you’re doing complicated exercises, so instead I prepared a slice of toast with butter and jam, folded it in half and wrapped it in a bees wax wrap. I also packed a banana.  After my Pilates class I sat on a bench in the sun and enjoyed my late breakfast before walking to the Bookarama premises and getting stuck in to sorting yet more books.  The number of books is, frankly, unbelievable.  MrM joined me at midday after spending time at the Menzshed.  We left just after 2pm and walked home.

After coffee and an apple MrM prepared the dough for two wholemeal loaves and then we worked together to prepare a Poppy Seed Loaf.  I’d spotted the recipe in one of the books I was sorting, so took a photo.  I thought it might be interesting to make given MrM’s love of potatoes, as grated potatoes are one of the ingredients along with, bizarrely, 1/4 cup of sugar.  With all ingredients mixed and ready to bake we discovered there was enough for one large loaf and a smaller one.  We had a slice each after supper and decided that the texture was good but it would be best eaten as a savoury bread with cheese.

While the Poppy Seed Loaves were baking I roasted a small butternut squash and while that was roasting we prepared savoury lentils into which we mashed the roasted flesh of the squash, then piled it all back into the squash halves, topped them with feta cheese and popped them back into the oven for a few minutes.  They were very tasty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.